A Dream

Today I was inspired to write about a Daily prompt that was given on a dream or nightmare I remember. I had this particular dream while I was pregnant. I don’t know if this stands for everyone, but at least for me I dreamt just about every night during my pregnancy. Maybe it was the hormones that made me dream so frequently.
It was early in my pregnancy, I didn’t know the sex of the baby yet. In my dream I was going into labor. I was in a hospital room, with a nurse and my husband. Here is the bizarre part. Instead of me giving birth to my baby my purse was! It was my Michael Kors saddle bag. The opening of the bag was literally dialating before my eyes! I saw the opening contract and retract with every labor pain. Before my very eyes I saw my baby being born, through my purse.
When the baby was finally born the nurse handed me the baby. The baby wasn’t a baby at all but a baby doll. I told the nurse no that’s not a baby its a doll. The nurse then took the baby from me cleaned it up and handed it back to me. Only this time it was a real baby. I held the baby up to my face and looked at it. It was a girl! She was the most beautiful thing I had ever seen. I remember looking at that babies little face and instantly having this intense overwhelming feeling of pure love! I cried tears of happiness. Ive never felt this before. We think we know love, but until you hold your baby in your arms, all the love you thought you knew doesn’t even compare.
Sorry hunny, I absolutely adore you and love you too! But a mothers love for a child is something I guess only a mother can understand. A few weeks after I had this dream I went to get an ultra sound done and hopefully find out the sex of the baby. The Tech asked me if I had any idea of what I thought the sex was going to be, and if I had had any dreams. So naturally I told her about my purse dream. Turns out my dream was right! We were having a girl! apparently it is very common for pregnant women to dream about their unborn babies and discover the sex. isn’t that crazy!
So what did this dream mean? Maybe it was my fear of labor. Maybe the baby wanted me to know who she was. Either way that is definitely a dream I will never forget.

Leave a Reply

